Skip to Content

16 December, 2019

TALES OF THE TOMB Shreds Tech Death Metal In Guitar Playthrough ‘Nine Eleven’

New EP “Volume Two: Mendacium” Out Now!
Unleashing their latest EP “Volume Two: Mendicium” this past September, Edmonton death metal duo Tales of Tomb are sharing with fans and technical guitar shredders their new playthrough video for the track ‘Nine Eleven’ via its premiere on TechnicalMusicReview HERE.

The band explains the story behind the track:

“Very few people (if any) are unaware of the tragic events that unfolded on Sept 11. 2001. We originally wrote this song for the last show of another Edmonton local band called Villainizer. When starting to plan out the second EP we wanted to have a concept like our first one. With songs like Nine Eleven and Faul wrote this point. We look common factors were in the songs and came to the conspiracy/lies concept. This EP is an important installment that embodies the fundamentals of the band — the reality is more horrifying than fiction. This is a concept EP based on the Latin word Mendacium — meaning untruth and or to be lied to. The first single Nine Eleven is just that — presenting a version of tragic historical events from various angles and the alleged truths that were presented. The intention of each song is to unmask the deception forced upon the masses pushing them to challenge their own perception of reality.”

Painting their canvas of extreme music with inspirations of real-life stories of murder, conspiracy, supernatural horror, and terror, Tales of The Tomb’s new EP “Volume Two: Mendicium” is a vicious bite of grinding blast beats, technical shredding accompanied by venomous guttural lows. Inspired by true events, the duo offer up gore-filled lyrics with a quivering soundscape. The EP was mixed and mastered by Cryptopsy guitarist and head engineer/owner at The Grid Studios Christian Donaldson along with featuring artwork by Tony Midi of Tonymidi Artworks.

“Volume Two: Mendicium” is available on Bandcamp, Spotify, Apple Music.

Track Listing:
1. The Nightmare Hall (4:05)
2. Faul (3:02)
3. The Sinful Messiah (4:14)
4. Dyatlov Pass Incident (3:52)
5. Nine Eleven (4:46)
6. Mermaid In A Manhole (3:33)
EP Length: 23:44

More info:

“RIYL: Serial killers and death metal. Now, many of you may think the two already go hand in hand, but new dimensions of depravity are opened when you take the murderous criminals Macabre and Church of Misery have been glorifying forever and backdrop it with noise more akin to Cannibal Corpse Fist-****ing At The Gates. Or Vice Versa.” – Decibel Magazine

“It’s got a European death metal feel to it, and while it’s definitely heavy, it’s centerpiece is a melodic guitar solo. If the rest of the EP, out on November 27th, is anything like the first taste of it, signals Tales of the Tomb as a band we’ll be hearing more – Metal Insider

“Grooves entwine and work their way under the skin like toxic vines, whilst the body of the song strolls with a deceitful calm as much hued in more classic metal essences as it is in death metal voracity.” – RingMaster Review

“Volume One: Morpras stands as a melodic treat fans of cold sounding death metal, melodic or otherwise, will definitely get a kick out of.” – Apochs Metal Review

Prairie Finalist for Wacken Metal Battle Canada 2016